I-CORE - Israeli Centers Of Research Excellence I-CORE - Israeli Centers Of Research Excellence I-CORE - Israeli Centers Of Research Excellence Israeli Centers Of Research Excellence

Committees and teams

Steering Committee

Steering Committee

The I-CORE Steering Committee

The I-CORE Steering Committee consists of 11 leading researchers in a wide spectrum of fields. The Steering Committee is in charge of designing and approving the program's principles and modus operandi, the selection of research topics and the reviewing of the evaluation committees' reports and declaration of the   groups selected to establish the I-COREs.

Prof. Shimon Yankielowicz, Chairman, I-CORE Steering Committee, is a professor of physics at Tel-Aviv University.
Prof. Yankielowicz served as the Vice Rector (1997-2001) and Rector (2001-2005) of Tel-Aviv University and the Head of the School of Physics (1994-1997).  He is the recipient of the Meitner-Humboldt Award, Humboldt Foundation (1999), and Chairman of the Tel-Aviv Youth University. He earned both his B.Sc. in Physics and Mathematics and M.Sc. in Physics from the Hebrew University and his Ph.D. in Physics from the Weizmann Institute of Science.

Members of the Steering Committee of the I-CORE Program

  1. Prof. Shimon Yankielowicz, School of Physics and Astronomy, Tel Aviv University, Chairman of the Steering Committee
  2. Prof. Manuel Trajtenberg, Chairman of the Planning and Budgeting Committee
  3. Prof. Benjamin Geiger, Department of Molecular Cell Biology, The Weizmann Institute of Science, Chairman of the Israel Science Foundation Academic Board
  4. Mr. Aharon Beth-Ha'Lachmi, past PBC member
  5. Prof. Alfred Bruckstein, Computer Science Department, Technion
  6. Prof. Ronnie Kosloff, Department of Physical Chemistry, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  7. Prof. Rachel Levy-Schiff, Department of Psychology Bar Ilan University and Academic College Kinneret
  8. Prof. Sophia Menacahe, Department of General History, Haifa University
  9. Prof. Shmuel Feiner, Humanities and Jewish Studies, Bar-Ilan University 
  10. Prof. Aviad Raz, Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology, Ben-Gurion University