I-CORE - Israeli Centers Of Research Excellence I-CORE - Israeli Centers Of Research Excellence I-CORE - Israeli Centers Of Research Excellence Israeli Centers Of Research Excellence

Committees and teams



The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) of I-CORE

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) of I-CORE is blessed with the participation of some of the most distinguished researchers worldwide, including Nobel and other prestigious prizes laureates. The 12-member body represents a wide range of academic disciplines.
The role of the SAC is to advise the I-CORE Steering Committee in the various stages of the program such as the selection of research topics or the modus operandi of the program and advise the ISF in composing the international scientific evaluation committees. Members contribute from their wide knowledge in their area of specialization, as well as from their rich experience as leading researchers, thereby assuring academic excellence of the highest degree.

The members of the Scientific Advisory Committee are:

  1. Prof. Bruce M. Alberts, Professor emeritus of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology at the University of California San Francisco, editor in chief of Science Magazine.
  2. Prof. Aaron Ciechanover, Professor in the Ruth and Bruce Rappaport Faculty of Medicine and Research Institute at the Technion, Nobel laureate in Chemistry. 
  3. Prof. David K. Cohen, Professor of Education and professor of public policy at the University of Michigan.
  4. Prof. Linda Gregerson, Professor of English Language and Literature at the University of Michigan.
  5. Prof. David J. Gross, Director of the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics at the University of California, Santa Barbara, Nobel laureate in Physics.
  6. Prof. Steven Katz, Director of the Elie Wiesel Center for Judaic Studies at Boston University in Massachusetts.
  7. Prof. Roger D. Kornberg, Professor of structural biology at Stanford University School of Medicine, Nobel laureate in Chemistry.
  8. Prof. David M. Kreps, Professor at the Graduate School of Business at Stanford University, recipient of the Clark Medal.
  9. Prof. Eric S. Lander, Professor of Biology at MIT, a member of the Whitehead Institute, and director of the Broad Institute.
  10. Prof. Moshe Y. Vardi, Professor of Computer Science at Rice University, recipient of the Gödel Prize.
  11. Prof. Ada E. Yonath, Director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science, Nobel laureate in Chemistry.
  12. Prof. Dan Shechtman, Professor of Materials Science at the Technion, Nobel laureate in Chemistry.